The Railpen Investments Board (RIB) reports directly to the Trustee. It has a Non-Executive Chair, an Executive Director, two Trustee Directors and three Non-Executive members. The primary role of the RIB is to provide an oversight function in the management of the Railpen Pooled Funds.

Paul Trickett

Paul is an independent Non-Executive Director of Railpen and Chairman of the RIB. Paul holds non-executive positions in investment management and insurance firms.

Paul led the Global Portfolio Solutions group in EMEA at Goldman Sachs Asset Management (GSAM). Prior to his GSAM role, Paul was Head of Towers Watson’s Investment Practice for the EMEA region, and at an earlier stage in his career he was Chief Executive of the British Coal Pension Scheme.

Carl S. Bang

Carl holds an MBA from the Schulich School of Business at York University in Toronto and is a Chartered Financial Analyst.

Carl has recently been appointed as outsourced CIO at Work Optional, advising on client investment strategy and portfolio construction. Prior to this he held the position of President of Sun Life Institutional investments in Canada, where he established the business. Previously, he was CIO of the Qatar Foundation Endowment Fund, Chairman and CEO of State Street Global Advisors France, and has held directorships with State Street in France, Canada and Luxembourg. He has also managed money with the Canadian National Railway Pension Fund.

Carl has served on various committees actively engaging large Canadian Institutional investors and board of directors of Canadian public companies advocating good governance and shareholder rights.

John Chilman

John joined as CEO of RPMI, and an Executive Director of Railpen, in June 2019, having previously served for 12 years as a Director of the Railways Pension Scheme Trustee Company, and Chair for the last five years. John is also an Independent Trustee of the Nestle UK pension fund.

John is a Chartered Accountant by qualification, and was previously Group Head of Pensions at National Grid. Prior to that John held senior financial, commercial and pension positions at a number of large companies, including PricewaterhouseCoopers, South Western Electricity, Shell, HBOS and FirstGroup.

Meliha Duymaz

Meliha is the Managing Director for Anglia Route Network Rail since July 2017. Before joining Network Rail, she worked for a diverse range of organisations including Serco Plc in the Docklands Light Railway, public relations group Hunstworth Plc and as an auditor in Turkey. Having spent 17 years as a finance professional in various industries, Meliha has extensive experience in franchising & bidding, outsourcing, financial and commercial management in complex organisations.

Johanna Kyrklund

Johanna joined Schroders in March 2007 and is the Global Head of Multi-Asset Investments and a member of the Group Management Committee (GMC) at Schroders. Johanna is responsible for investments on behalf of Multi-Asset clients globally, chairs the Global Asset Allocation Committee (GAAC) and is the lead portfolio manager of the Schroder Diversified Growth Strategy.

Previously Johanna worked at Insight Investment where she managed an unconstrained global macro absolute return fund. Prior to this she worked at Deutsche Asset Management where she was Head of Asset Allocation in the UK and fund manager of the Deutsche tactical asset allocation fund.

Johanna is a member of the Cambridge University Investment Board.

John Mayfield

John worked as the British Railways Board’s Chief Internal Auditor and then as Finance Director at the British Rail Property Board until he retired in 1993. He is a past president of the Retired Railway Officers’ Society and was a member of the 1994 Pensioners Section Pensions Committee from 1994 to 1996. John was appointed as a director of the Railways Pension Trustee Company in 1996.